Sunny Hostin

Who's on for 'Jeopardy!' Power Players Week?

Getty Images

by Judy Kurtz for The Hill

March 30, 2016 - Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.), “Meet the Press” host Chuck Todd, former Republican National Committee Chairman Michael Steele and CNN’s Anderson Cooper and S.E. Cupp are among the political and media personalities going buzzer-to-buzzer on “Jeopardy!” next month.

The long-running Alex Trebek-hosted quiz show is filming its “Power Players Week” in Washington next month

ITK has learned that “Saturday Night Live” alum Franken — who has competed on the show twice before — is believed to be the first sitting lawmaker to be featured as a “Jeopardy!” contestant.

Among the other high-profile names slated to appear at the D.C. taping: Republican strategist Ana Navarro, comedian Louis C.K., CNN’s Kate Bolduan and David Gregory, former MSNBC host Melissa Harris-Perry, “60 Minutes” correspondent Lara Logan, “Mad Men” creator Matthew Weiner, ABC News legal correspondent Sunny Hostin, The Washington Post’s Jonathan Capehart and author Jonathan Franzen.

The contestants all receive a guaranteed $10,000 to go toward the charity of their choice for their participation, while the winner of each game will earn a minimum of $50,000 for their charity.

Back to top ↑